National Poetry Series
Series Editor


Russell Banks

Mariana Cook

Andrew Foote

Stephen Graham

William Kistler

Alan Klein

Francine Prose

Jeffrey Ravetch

Glenn Schaeffer

Charles Simic

Lea Hillman Simonds

Paul Slovak

Margaret B. Thornton

Natasha Trethewey

National Poetry Series

Established in 1978, the National Poetry Series is a literary awards program which sponsors the publication of five books of poetry each year with the goal of supporting poetry and increasing the audience for poetry by heightening its visibility. The manuscripts, solicited through an annual Open Competition, are selected by poets of national stature and published by a distinguished group of trade, university, and small presses, including the University of Georgia Press.


Former winners of the National Poetry Series competition include poets such as Sterling Brown, Billy Collins, Mark Doty, Stephen Dunn, Marie Howe, Naomi Shihab Nye, Eleni Sikelianos, and Terrance Hayes.


Participating Publishers

  • University of Georgia Press
  • Beacon Press
  • Ecco
  • Milkweed Editions
  • Penguin Books

Submission Guidelines