This Is My Century

New and Collected Poems

Title Details

Pages: 256

Trim size: 5.500in x 8.500in



Pub Date: 10/15/2013

ISBN: 9-780-8203-4597-0

List Price: $25.95

This Is My Century

New and Collected Poems

Skip to

  • Description
  • Reviews
  • Awards
  • Contributors

Margaret Walker became the first African American to win a national literary award when her collection For My People was chosen for the Yale Series of Younger Poets in 1942. Over the next fifty years she enriched American literature in endless ways through her writings and, in 1993, she received the National Book Award for Lifetime Achievement.

This Is My Century is Walker's own defining summation of her career. Selected by the author herself, the one hundred poems include thirty-seven previously uncollected pieces and the entire contents of three hard-to-find volumes: the award-winning For My People (1942), Prophets for a New Day (1970), and October Journey (1975).

Always immediate but classic in voice, [Walker’s] poetry has a timeless quality. . . . If younger poets have ranged farther in voice and content, it is because they stand high on the shoulders of giants such as Margaret Walker.


A pivotal figure . . . Hers is, in the final analysis, a grand presence that this collected volume of lifetime works affirms.

Belles Lettres

Walker writes with a strength and clarity that befits her large vision of American and African American history.

Library Journal


Lifetime Achievement Award, Before Columbus Foundation

Maryemma Graham

Nikky Finney

About the Author/Editor

MARGARET WALKER (1915-1998) wrote poetry, essays, the novel Jubilee, and a biography of Richard Wright. She created pioneering programs in the humanities and African American studies at Jackson State University, where she was a faculty member for almost three decades.